Graduate Edition 2017-2018

Academic Calendars

Fall Semester 2017

Monday, July 31 Classes Dropped for Non-Payment
Monday, August 7 Classes Dropped for Non-Payment
Tuesday-Wednesday, August 8-9 Fall Faculty/Staff Institute
Thursday-Friday, August 10-11 New Student Orientation
Saturday, August 12 Graduate Programs, and New Transfer Students Registration, 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Sunday, August 13 Residence Halls Open, All Students
Monday, August 14 Official Registration, 8:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

7:30 p.m. - Classes Dropped for Non-payment
Tuesday, August 15 Classes Begin for Fall 2017

Late Registration and Drop/Add Period Begins, 8:30 a.m.
Monday, August 21 Late Registration and Drop and Add Period Ends, 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, August 22 First Day to Withdraw from classes and Receive a Grade of “W”
Monday, September 4 Labor Day Holiday, Classes Dismissed, Offices Closed
Tuesday, September 5 Classes Resume, 8:00 a.m.
Friday, September 15 Fall 2017 Graduation Applications Due to Registrar’s Office
Thursday-Wednesday, Oct 5-11 Mid-Term Exams (All Students)
 Tuesday, October 10
 Last Day to Remove "I" Grades
Friday, October 13 Deadline for Posting Grades - 12:00 p.m.
Monday- Tuesday, October 23-24 Fall Recess
Wednesday, October 25 Classes Resume, 8:00 a.m.
Monday-Friday, Oct 30 - Nov 10 Academic Advisement/Pre-Registration for Spring 2018
Wednesday, November 1 Last day to Withdraw from Classes and Receive a Grade of “W”
Monday, November 13 Last Day to Withdraw from the University and Receive a Grade of “WD”
Friday, November 17 Spring 2018 Graduation Applications Due to Registrar’s Office
Wednesday – Friday, November 22 – 24 Thanksgiving Holiday, Classes Dismissed
Monday, November 27 Classes Resume, 8:00 a.m.
Tuesday, November 28 Last Day of Classes
Wednesday, November 29 Reading Day
Thursday – Monday, November 30 - December 4 Final Examinations, Graduating Seniors
Monday, December 4 Deadline for Posting Graduating Seniors Grades – 5:00 p.m.

Last Day to Return Books/Mailbox Keys Without Charge for Graduating Seniors
Thursday – Wednesday , December 2 – 6 Final Examinations, Remaining Students
Saturday, December 9  Fall Commencement
Tuesday, December 12 Deadline for Posting Grades for Remaining Students – 3:00 p.m.

Last Day to Return Books/Mailbox Keys without Charge for Remaining Students

Spring Semester 2018

Tuesday, January 2 Classes Dropped for Non-Payment
Wednesday, January 3 Winter Faculty/Staff Institute
Thursday - Friday, January 4-5 New Student Orientation
Sunday, January 7 Residence Halls Open – All Students
Monday, January 8 Official Registration, 8:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
7:30 p.m. - Classes Dropped for Non-payment
Tuesday, January 9 Classes Begin for Spring 2018
Late Registration and Drop and Add Period Begins, 8:30 a.m.
Monday, January 15 Dr. Martin L. King, Jr. Holiday, Classes Dismissed, Offices Closed
Tuesday, January 16 Classes Resume, 8:00 a.m.
Late Registration/Drop-Add Period Ends, 5:00 p.m.
Wednesday, January, 17 First Day to withdraw from classes and receive a Grade of “W”
Thursday, March 1 Financial Aid Deadline for Priority Funding
Thursday, March 9 Founders' Day
Monday – Friday, March 5-9 Mid-Term Exams (All Students)
Tuesday, March 6 Last Day to Remove "I" Grades
Monday, March 12 Deadline for Posting Grades – 12:00 p.m.
Monday - Saturday, March 12-17 Spring Recess
Monday, March 19 Classes Resume, 8:00 a.m.
Monday, March 19 - Tuesday, April 3 Academic Advisement/Pre-Registration for Summer/Fall 2018
Thursday, March 29
 Last Day to Withdraw from Classes and Receive a Grade of "W"
Friday, March 30 Good Friday Holiday, Classes Dismissed, Offices Closed
Saturday, March 31 Saturday Classes Dismissed
Monday, April 2 Easter Monday, Classes Dismissed
Tuesday, April 3 Classes Resume, 8:00 a.m.
Wednesday, April, 18 Last Day to Withdraw and Receive a Grade of "WD"
Monday, April 30 Last Day of Classes
Tuesday, May 1 Reading Days
Wednesday - Friday, May 2-4 Final Exams, Graduating Seniors
Monday, May 7 Deadline for Posting Graduating Seniors’ Grades -12:00 p.m.
Last Day to Return Books/Mailbox Keys, without Charge for Graduating Seniors
Wednesday – Tuesday, May 2-8 Final Exams, All other students
Thursday, May 10
 Spring Faculty/Staff Institute
Saturday, May 12 Spring Commencement
Monday, May 14
Deadline for Posting Grades for Remaining Students - 3:00 p.m.
Last Day to Return Books/Mailbox Keys without Charge for Remaining Students

Summer School 2018

Monday, May 21 Residence Halls Open
Tuesday, May 22 First day of Classes (8-week and 5-week Sessions)
Friday, May 25 Last Day to Enroll (Register), Drop/Add a Course or Change from credit audit with Tuition Adjustment (8-week and 5-week Sessions)
Monday, May 28 Memorial Day – No Classes
Tuesday, May 29
Classes Resume, 8:00 a.m.

Last Day to Withdraw from the University and Receive a Refund (8-week and 5-week Sessions)
Wed-Thurs, June 6-7 Mid-term Examinations (5-week Session)
Tuesday, June 12 Last Day to Withdraw from Course with grade “W” (5-week Session)
Friday, June 15 Last Day to withdraw from the University and receive Grade “WD” (5-week Session)
Wednesday - Thursday
June 20-21
 Mid-Term Examinations (8-week Session)
 Friday, June 22
Last Day of Classes (5-week Session)
Last Day to Withdraw from a Course with a Grad eof "W" (8-week Session)
Monday - Tuesday,
June 25 - 26
Final Examinations (5-week Session)
Thursday, June 28 Final Grades for 5-week Session due to Registrar by 5 p.m.
Rental Books Returned by 4 p.m.
 Friday, June 29
 Last Day to Withdraw from the University with a Grade of "WD" (8-week Session)
Wednesday, July 4 Independence Day-No Classes
Monday, July 16 Last Day of Classes (8-week Session)
Tuesday - Wednesday,
July 17-18
Final Examinations (8-week Session)
Friday, July 20 Final Grades for 8-week Session due to Registrar by 5 p.m.,
Rental Books Returned by 4 p.m.